Standing down as Chairman of the London Fire & Emergency Planning Authority

Today I sent the following letter to the Mayor of London:

Dear Boris,

I have today written to Mr Williams, the Clerk of the London Fire & Emergency Planning Authority, to inform him that I intend to stand down as Chairman of the Authority at the conclusion of the Authority’s meeting on the 26th of March.

As you know I have been selected as a parliamentary candidate at the next general election and I feel that it is right that I stand down from the chairmanship ahead of the formal start to the campaign period.

It has been an honour and a privilege to have served as Chairman since 2012. The London Fire Brigade has reinforced its position as the best fire and rescue service in the world and to have had the opportunity to work with such an outstanding organisation is an experience I will treasure.

Although we have had to make a number of tough choices at LFEPA over the last few years, the ongoing excellent performance of the London Fire Brigade has vindicated the those choices and I want to thank you personally for support throughout my time as Chairman.

Yours

James Cleverly

I am proud that over my time as Chairman we have put the London Fire Brigade on a sound financial footing, contributed to a cut in the tax bill for Londoners and delivered outstanding levels of performance.

2014 saw the proactive, hard work of London firefighters cut the number of incidents from 103,605 (2013) to 96,599 and the number of fires from 21,158 to 19,605.

What I am most proud of is that despite a year of industrial action the brigade delivered 85,149 Home Fire Safety Visits up from 83,940 in 2013 and in doing so helped cut the number of fire deaths from 49 (2013) to just 30 last year.

The risks to London will evolve and can never be eradicated, but I know that the London Fire Brigade is ready and able to meet whatever challenges it faces.

Leave a Reply

