I’m glad that the vetting and barring system is going

I’ve written in the past as to why I didn’t support the previous government’s Vetting & Barring Scheme so I won’t rehearse the arguments again here but I am very pleased to see that the Home Secretary is dramatically reducing the scale and scope of the scheme.

I am sure that some people will assume that this will lead to a flood of attacks by predatory paedophiles, but the facts do not bear out these concerns.  Indeed I have seen much which convinces me that much of our current social difficulties are caused by too little contact between children and adults not too much.  There is a level of mutual intolerance and a lack of understanding between the generation which must be reduced if we are to have a society that really works well.

I hope this move open a floodgate of future Scout leaders, cadet instructors, football coaches, youth club managers etc. because every youth organisation that I met as the Mayor’s Youth Ambassador said that they were crying out for more adult volunteers.

One response to “I’m glad that the vetting and barring system is going

  1. what evidence do you have that it puts people off volunteering as you imply? I've heard it said that it puts people off but have not seen the Government produce one piece of evidence to support that assertion.

Leave a Reply

