Beths Grammar School prizegiving

This evening I was the guest speaker at the Beths prize giving. I always enjoy this kind of event as they provide an opportunity for me to give the students, staff and parents a big pat on the back in my speech.

Keeping with tradition the prize winners in each year received books and the diversity of the prize books was remarkable. Clearly the students get to choose their own prizes and I handed over a number of copies of George Orwell’s 1984 as well as more contemporary fiction, books on arts, music and science including A Brief History of Time.

I had to stifle a chuckle when two consecutive books that passed through my hands were An Outline of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell and then You Couldn’t Make it Up by Jeremy Kyle. You really couldn’t make it up.

I was very pleased to hear in the Headmaster’s speech that the school will be one of the first outstanding schools to become an academy under Micheal Gove’s education reforms.

Leave a Reply

