Am I past it?

I’ve just had a quick chat with Nick Conrad on LBC. He hosts the youth program and is talking about our Young People’s Question Time.

He was talking through a number of issues that were brought up on the day. One of the big questions that he put to me was whether I was young enough to really represent London’s youth. I had my 40th birthday last week.
This wasn’t a personal attack, in fact he was very complimentary about me, but it is a fair question.
So please use the comments section to let me know if you think I’m too old to be the Youth Ambassador.

8 responses to “Am I past it?

  1. Absolutely ridiculous, of course you are not too old to be the Youth Ambassador.

    You connect really well with the youth and bring the important issues to the table, all of the outreach members I spoke to on Thursday said that they think of you as a fellow member and I completely agree. I don't think is anyone better suited for the position than yourself. Not to disrespect Nick Conrad but, he is just playing devils advocate.

  2. Absolutely ridiculous, of course you are not too old to be the Youth Ambassador.

    You connect really well with the youth and bring the important issues to the table, all of the outreach members I spoke to on Thursday said that they think of you as a fellow member and I completely agree. I don't think is anyone better suited for the position than yourself. Not to disrespect Nick Conrad but, he is just playing devils advocate.

  3. The first commenter is correct. It is only the Harmans of this world who are desperate to pigeonhole people through whatever device they can find, and then divide and marginalise them.

    Earlier this week I applied for my 'bus pass (yes, I have recently turned sixty!) and yet I have been, in my own way, a useful voice for youth in my own Council on several occasions — indeed, a far stronger voice than some others (particularly in the Labour Group) who are younger than myself.

    Never confuse personal age with motivate, understanding and ability!

  4. The first commenter is correct. It is only the Harmans of this world who are desperate to pigeonhole people through whatever device they can find, and then divide and marginalise them.

    Earlier this week I applied for my 'bus pass (yes, I have recently turned sixty!) and yet I have been, in my own way, a useful voice for youth in my own Council on several occasions — indeed, a far stronger voice than some others (particularly in the Labour Group) who are younger than myself.

    Never confuse personal age with motivate, understanding and ability!

  5. James, Do you feel past it? Do you think a younger person could do a better job? Do you think you are not the best person for the job? They are the questions to ask. I don't agree with your politics, but you seem genuinely committed. I heard the interview. I thought you were caught off guard by the question & that didn't help.

    I'm 47 and I'm currently organising a youth music project. I bring something to the table. That's what matters. If you do that's good enough for me

  6. James, Do you feel past it? Do you think a younger person could do a better job? Do you think you are not the best person for the job? They are the questions to ask. I don't agree with your politics, but you seem genuinely committed. I heard the interview. I thought you were caught off guard by the question & that didn't help.

    I'm 47 and I'm currently organising a youth music project. I bring something to the table. That's what matters. If you do that's good enough for me

Leave a Reply

