Eric Joyce MP and the evening of his resignation

Last night I was one of the panel speakers at debate hosted by the UK National Defence Association, one of the other panelists was Eric Joyce MP. He was a little late for the start of the debate but, as he was traveling down from Scotland to be there, no one was too surprised.

While I didn’t agree with all the points that he made during the debate, I found myself agreeing with a great deal more than I had expected. I kept thinking to myself that he was demonstrating a great deal of candor for someone in the government (PPS to Bob Ainsworth, Defence Secretary) and seemed willing to criticize the government at times. I put it down to him being an former soldier.
It wasn’t until I was traveling home on the train that I checked the BBC News website on my phone (I’m a news junky) to discover that Eric had resigned from the government just minutes before arriving at the debate.
He clearly felt liberated.

2 responses to “Eric Joyce MP and the evening of his resignation

  1. Well done for failing to put the boot in and to be the first person to explain in detail his resignation.

    I think you need to follow Guido's tweets better, or get the Conservative party to text you when one of your fellow panalists resigns just before they come on!

    A real missed opportunity.

  2. Well done for failing to put the boot in and to be the first person to explain in detail his resignation.

    I think you need to follow Guido's tweets better, or get the Conservative party to text you when one of your fellow panalists resigns just before they come on!

    A real missed opportunity.

Leave a Reply

