Oh Brian!

My colleague on the London Assembly, Brian Coleman, has been getting himself in hot water again.

In an era when many politicians refuse to have an opinion on anything for fear of a bad headline, Brian’s candour can be refreshing. The by-product of that candour is the occasional gaff.

And his recent comments about expenses, transparency, bloggers and the work rate of fellow Assembly Members sits squarely in the gaff side of the equation.

I have no doubt that Brian will see the light over expenses and with both Roger Evans (group leader) and I (dept group leader) being regular bloggers you might even find Brian taking that up too.

Only don’t hold your breath on blogging front.

8 responses to “Oh Brian!

  1. And the list of undisclosed Labour ministers' expenses is how long ?

    Why has alleged corruptly run Fees Office not being held accountable, or those responsible sacked ?

    It's an absolute farce ….

  2. And the list of undisclosed Labour ministers' expenses is how long ?

    Why has alleged corruptly run Fees Office not being held accountable, or those responsible sacked ?

    It's an absolute farce ….

  3. James,

    BC used to write a blog for the New Statesman.

    I think his comments about his fellow members work rate was rather rude. I'm sure I don't need to tell you about the concept of being a team player.

    I read your blog & Roger Evans regularly, they are both interesting & informative in their own ways. Although I'm a Labour supporting blogger, I think generally Tories make better use of the medium, so I find BC's comments rather bizarre.

    When was the last time you saw a picture of BC on the front page of the Standard and thought “Great, this story will reflect well on the Tories on the GLA”?

  4. James,

    BC used to write a blog for the New Statesman.

    I think his comments about his fellow members work rate was rather rude. I'm sure I don't need to tell you about the concept of being a team player.

    I read your blog & Roger Evans regularly, they are both interesting & informative in their own ways. Although I'm a Labour supporting blogger, I think generally Tories make better use of the medium, so I find BC's comments rather bizarre.

    When was the last time you saw a picture of BC on the front page of the Standard and thought “Great, this story will reflect well on the Tories on the GLA”?

  5. I agree with Rog T about your blog, James, but I dread the thought of Brian Coleman blogging. Blogs are only interesting if the blogger has something interesting and worthwhile to say……….and that is where any Brian Coleman blog would fall down!

    While we're on the subject, stop Twittering – it's quite ridiculous, a total waste of time and reeks of “Oh look at me, aren't I interesting”. It's totally unbecoming of anyone who wants to be taken seriously. In fact there has never been a decent twitter post. Ever. By anyone.

  6. I agree with Rog T about your blog, James, but I dread the thought of Brian Coleman blogging. Blogs are only interesting if the blogger has something interesting and worthwhile to say……….and that is where any Brian Coleman blog would fall down!

    While we're on the subject, stop Twittering – it's quite ridiculous, a total waste of time and reeks of “Oh look at me, aren't I interesting”. It's totally unbecoming of anyone who wants to be taken seriously. In fact there has never been a decent twitter post. Ever. By anyone.

Leave a Reply

