Ian Clement’s resignation

The news of the Conservative’s new European party group, the election of a new Speaker of the House of Commons and the opening day of Wimbledon have overshadowed the resignation of Ian Clement.

I’ve been at youth oriented engagements all day so I’m not fully up to speed with the details but it looks like Ian has been stupid and greedy at best. I’m angry and disappointed.

I won’t pretend that this won’t add to the local anger caused by Derek Conway’s behaviour but both these issues are personal failings of individuals both of which were dealt with decisively by the party.

8 responses to “Ian Clement’s resignation

  1. Sounds like fraud to me. I hope the police will prosecute in this case and that Boris will not sack any police office who tries to investigate.

    And I hope that he does not get redundancy pay as happened with Ian Blair after his resignation.

    But at least he was forced to resign rather than staying on until the next general election, as so many dodgy MPs have done.

  2. Sounds like fraud to me. I hope the police will prosecute in this case and that Boris will not sack any police office who tries to investigate.

    And I hope that he does not get redundancy pay as happened with Ian Blair after his resignation.

    But at least he was forced to resign rather than staying on until the next general election, as so many dodgy MPs have done.

  3. James,

    I agree that these are personal failins, but I disagree with your assessment of decisive action. Boris dithered. He should have called Ian Clement in when the story broke, said “Bring in all of your bank statements etc & level with me”. That way Boris could have made a valued judgement. As it is he's embarrassed the Torys & made Boris look stupid, indecisive & weak. I'm sure that if we don't et any more such issues Boris will recover, but if people want these jobs they have to level with him

  4. James,

    I agree that these are personal failins, but I disagree with your assessment of decisive action. Boris dithered. He should have called Ian Clement in when the story broke, said “Bring in all of your bank statements etc & level with me”. That way Boris could have made a valued judgement. As it is he's embarrassed the Torys & made Boris look stupid, indecisive & weak. I'm sure that if we don't et any more such issues Boris will recover, but if people want these jobs they have to level with him

  5. Conway is still an MP drawing an MPs salary and claiming parlimentary allowances. The whip has been removed but the man is still there. How many more crooks and fraudsters are operating in the Tory mire of Bexley ?

  6. Conway is still an MP drawing an MPs salary and claiming parlimentary allowances. The whip has been removed but the man is still there. How many more crooks and fraudsters are operating in the Tory mire of Bexley ?

Leave a Reply

