All change

My old political stomping ground of Lewisham East is getting interesting. Both the incumbent Labour MP, Bridget Prentice, and the Lib Dem PPC are standing down. This will make Jonathan Clamp the longest serving candidate when the election comes.

I quite like Bridget, she has always been civil to me and was I enjoyed standing against her in the 2005 General Election, although she does have a habit of cheating at little (see here and here). I don’t claim to have the same relationship with the Chris Maines, the Lib Dem ex-PPC.

Chris stood against John Horam MP in Orpington a number of times and had a nasty habit of playing the man rather than the ball. Having lost to John no less than four times he came to Lewisham initially as their mayoral candidate and then as the PPC. The word around the campfire is that he has put a number of noses out of joint since coming across and the results at the London mayoral elections killed off any chance of Lewisham East being a Lib Dem target seat.

The question that I ask myself is: Did they jump or were they pushed?

4 responses to “All change

  1. Welcome back to the Political ‘Trench Fighting’ James 🙂 In suggesting that the team in the yellow shirts should be called the AdHominems, I think I fall foul of hypocrisy. So be it.

  2. Welcome back to the Political ‘Trench Fighting’ James 🙂 In suggesting that the team in the yellow shirts should be called the AdHominems, I think I fall foul of hypocrisy. So be it.

  3. Maybe she’s been convinced to step aside in case one of the Labour head office-backed Erith and Thamesmead candidates isn’t successful?

  4. Maybe she’s been convinced to step aside in case one of the Labour head office-backed Erith and Thamesmead candidates isn’t successful?

Leave a Reply

