My expenses

Jimmy, a regular commentator on this blog, makes a valid request. In my last post I wrote about MPs expenses and he feels it only fair that I’m open about mine. Fair point.

Before I reveal the figure I think it only fair to explain that Assembly Members and MPs expenses work in very different ways.

Firstly because London is a physically tight area none of us need second homes. All our staff, IT equipment and office equipment is paid for centrally rather than being paid by or bought by the MP, as is the case in Westminster. I also get an annual travel card so I can get around London for meetings, visits etc. This all keeps our expenses lower and more simple than MPs.

Now here is the good bit. Based on my expenses since being elected in May of last year I calculate my annual expense claim for the municipal year 2008/9 will be £0.00

I can’t promise it will always be this low but I’ll do my best.

15 responses to “My expenses

  1. Ah, a man after my own heart (as the saying goes).In my eight years on our Council, my total expenses claim amounted to £0.00 as well — and I had no travel card or similar, so paid all my fares (including to London and elsewhere on occasion) out of my own pocket.Perhaps I was too lazy to fill in the claim forms(!)

  2. I’m impressed.So much better than < HREF="http://www.thisislocallondon.co.uk/news/2404432.0/" REL="nofollow">some assembly members<>I believe the travel card does count as an item for expenses, which is why it is listed on < HREF="http://www.london.gov.uk/assembly/audit_panel_mtgs/2009/jan15/item11a.pdf" REL="nofollow">The assembly website<>, although strangely not in the travel card column, only in the total.So, not really zero, more like £1,784. But all the same, well done for keeping them low, and not expecting higher standards from others than you are prepared to meet yourself.

  3. James,Whilst we’re talking about ethics, any comment on the shameful Daniel Kawczynski? Surely his disgraceful misleading of Parliament is worthy of a comment -after all, you were quick to jump on the Damian Green bandwgon?As one of the few really decent and trustworthy politicians around, the performance of people like Kawczynski must really upset you?

  4. Well done James. It’s good to see you setting an example. You should have a quiet word in the ear of a certain member from my neck of the woods, Barnet and Camden.Thought I’d mention it in my latest blog, hope you don’t mind too muchhttp://barneteye.blogspot.com/CheersRog

  5. Well done James. It’s good to see you setting an example. You should have a quiet word in the ear of a certain member from my neck of the woods, Barnet and Camden.Thought I’d mention it in my latest blog, hope you don’t mind too muchhttp://barneteye.blogspot.com/CheersRog

  6. Rog T,I can assure you that this post wasn’t a criticism of Brian. I have been opposed to MPs hiding their expenses, Brian has never done that.His expenditure is open and above board, just as it should be.

  7. James,Totally agree with you that hiding expenses is far worse. I'd like to see us move to a system where it's all open & above board. FYI – I got a rather nasty letter from our local Labour MP when I criticised his expenses (5th Highest in the country a couple of years ago) in a letter to our local paper. I don't really see why an MP for Hendon needs a subsided second property in Westminster. Your comments have confirmed that to me, so it's not just Mr Coleman who deserves the odd kick on this issue. I hope your comment puts the cat among the pigeons with a few people on all sides !!!

Leave a Reply

