Lib Dem’s East Wickham campaigner voted to slash QMH services

Ooooops.

Interesting story in the Bexley Times. Michael Chuter is the Chair of the Joint Committee of PCTs which decided to cut A&E, maternity and children’s services from Queen Mary’s Hospital, Sidcup. He is also campaigning for the Lib Dem’s in the East Wickham by-election.

I know that some of the local Lib Dems had been supportive of the Conservative’s calls for the planned cuts to be stopped, some even joined Boris and the local Conservatives on our march earlier this year, but this can’t be a good strategy can it?

According to the paper one local resident said: “I went on the march to save our hospital earlier this year. Now it turns out their opposition to cutting the hospital services is just as much as a sham as the consultation on the hospital that Mr Chuter has engaged in.

“I saw him from my window leaving my property carrying a stack of those dreadful Liberal Democrat leaflets. I immediately recycled mine. His face is known to all of us who have tried to support QMS.”

I wonder if the leaflets that he was delivering had SOS QMH on them?

4 responses to “Lib Dem’s East Wickham campaigner voted to slash QMH services

  1. Unbelievable. Just imagine what this bloke would be like if he actually got elected to the gravy train that is Parliament. He’s not even there yet and already he “speaks with a forked tongue”!

  2. Unbelievable. Just imagine what this bloke would be like if he actually got elected to the gravy train that is Parliament. He’s not even there yet and already he “speaks with a forked tongue”!

  3. In the summer, Duncan Borrowman the local Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Candidate and I met with Michael Chuter, the Chair of the Joint Committee of PCTs which decided to slash Queen Mary's Hospital, Sidcup (QMS) of its A&E and maternity unit, for three hours to raise our objections to the plans of his committee. We put across in the strongest possible terms our opposition to the Queen Mary's closures.I have recently had surgery at QMS, it was my hospital of choice. I wished to support my local hospital.Duncan Borrowman's daughters were both born in the maternity unit there.As a former NHS finance professional I am strongly placed to look at the plans, and it is my view that the decision to close Queen Mary's A&E and maternity is wrong.Michael Chuter accepts my opposition to his committees proposals, he knows that if I am elected to Bexley Council in the East Wickham by-election I will be a strong and knowledgeable voice on the council against the plans. I have told him that if I am elected I will fight him tooth and nail over the QMS closures.However, Michael Chuter does support the Liberal Democrats on a whole host of issues and he has seen me in action as a councillor fighting for local people, and he therefore did help me last weekend by delivering leaflets through doors for me in East Wickham. But it should be clear that Michael Chuter's views on the future of QMS are not mine or those of the local Liberal Democrats.Grace GoodladEast Wickham Liberal Democrats

  4. In the summer, Duncan Borrowman the local Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Candidate and I met with Michael Chuter, the Chair of the Joint Committee of PCTs which decided to slash Queen Mary's Hospital, Sidcup (QMS) of its A&E and maternity unit, for three hours to raise our objections to the plans of his committee. We put across in the strongest possible terms our opposition to the Queen Mary's closures.I have recently had surgery at QMS, it was my hospital of choice. I wished to support my local hospital.Duncan Borrowman's daughters were both born in the maternity unit there.As a former NHS finance professional I am strongly placed to look at the plans, and it is my view that the decision to close Queen Mary's A&E and maternity is wrong.Michael Chuter accepts my opposition to his committees proposals, he knows that if I am elected to Bexley Council in the East Wickham by-election I will be a strong and knowledgeable voice on the council against the plans. I have told him that if I am elected I will fight him tooth and nail over the QMS closures.However, Michael Chuter does support the Liberal Democrats on a whole host of issues and he has seen me in action as a councillor fighting for local people, and he therefore did help me last weekend by delivering leaflets through doors for me in East Wickham. But it should be clear that Michael Chuter's views on the future of QMS are not mine or those of the local Liberal Democrats.Grace GoodladEast Wickham Liberal Democrats

Leave a Reply

