So that’s how she wants to play it!

The MP for Redditch (voted in by 0 Londoners) wants to freeze out the Mayor of London (voted in by over 1,000,000 Londoners) from choosing who leads the Met police.

I wonder what would happen if Boris insisted on choosing the head of the West Midlands Constabulary?

8 responses to “So that’s how she wants to play it!

  1. Unfortunately, the HS does seem to be the only one who gets to make that recommendation to HM.I hope the next government will sort out the constitutional problem with this – perhaps by separating the national functions of the MPS into a national force of some description.

  2. Unfortunately, the HS does seem to be the only one who gets to make that recommendation to HM.I hope the next government will sort out the constitutional problem with this – perhaps by separating the national functions of the MPS into a national force of some description.

  3. I’m going to commit heresy here. This is for two reasons, A: I’ve never disagreed with anything James Cleverly has ever said or done in the political sphere and B: I’m going to defend a member of the Parliamentary Labour Party. I have to point out that the Home Secretary was (Hopefully) acting in her capacity as a Minister of the Crown rather than the MP for Redditch (inportant though that post is). I think the post of Home Secretary has historical precedent over that of the Mayor of London. The Mayor should have an important say in this matter however. I think I have to qualify my remarks by saying I support Boris in making it clear privately to Sir Ian Blair that he didn’t have confidence in his leadership of the MPS at this time. I agree with blue eyes that separating out the national functions is probably a good idea. So there we are, pain over. James Cleverly is still one of my political gods and there is no hint of his having clay feet. James I admire your loyalty to Boris and I am still entirely loyal to you.

  4. I’m going to commit heresy here. This is for two reasons, A: I’ve never disagreed with anything James Cleverly has ever said or done in the political sphere and B: I’m going to defend a member of the Parliamentary Labour Party. I have to point out that the Home Secretary was (Hopefully) acting in her capacity as a Minister of the Crown rather than the MP for Redditch (inportant though that post is). I think the post of Home Secretary has historical precedent over that of the Mayor of London. The Mayor should have an important say in this matter however. I think I have to qualify my remarks by saying I support Boris in making it clear privately to Sir Ian Blair that he didn’t have confidence in his leadership of the MPS at this time. I agree with blue eyes that separating out the national functions is probably a good idea. So there we are, pain over. James Cleverly is still one of my political gods and there is no hint of his having clay feet. James I admire your loyalty to Boris and I am still entirely loyal to you.

  5. I can see Conand’s point, but the problem is that historical precedent means nothing to Nulab when it doesn’t suit their needs. Much of their constitutional reform was botched because they ignored historical precedent – not relevant to Cool Britannia – and this is one such example.Smith should not be allowed to hide behind the traditions that she has shown so much contempt for.

  6. I can see Conand’s point, but the problem is that historical precedent means nothing to Nulab when it doesn’t suit their needs. Much of their constitutional reform was botched because they ignored historical precedent – not relevant to Cool Britannia – and this is one such example.Smith should not be allowed to hide behind the traditions that she has shown so much contempt for.

  7. I do see your point Roger. I’ll still take any opportunity to defend our constitutional arrangements. I seem to love everything that Labour hates in these arrangements. I usually find that the more arcane the arrangement or ceremonial, the more important it is. There are good reasons these things have stood the test of time. I’m fairly sure that the Praefectus Urbi Bozza Von Pfeffel Pasha agrees with me.

  8. I do see your point Roger. I’ll still take any opportunity to defend our constitutional arrangements. I seem to love everything that Labour hates in these arrangements. I usually find that the more arcane the arrangement or ceremonial, the more important it is. There are good reasons these things have stood the test of time. I’m fairly sure that the Praefectus Urbi Bozza Von Pfeffel Pasha agrees with me.

Leave a Reply

