Flags, flags, flags

I was at the Olympic flag raising ceremony this morning, the weather stayed clear and fine with just enough wind to make sure the flags fluttered.

Boris was on good form, equating the five Olympic rings to the five hoops that London would have to jump through to deliver a top class set of games. I was then lucky enough to attend a reception with some of the Olympians from the 1948 London Games, Christine Ohuruogu from the 2008 team and a number of medal prospects for the 2012 games.

I had a good chat with Ken Parr from the small bore rifle team (didn’t we always used to win that) and members of the flat water kayak team. What a great bunch. I find it very easy talking to sports people (being and sad sporting wannabe myself) and I genuinely enjoyed the conversation. I’m increasingly looking forward to the 2012 games and watching the people who I have had the honour of meeting so far.

Leave a Reply

