Ugly, intrusive and useless sign

I’ve just got back from a tour of Joyden’s Wood by the Woodland Trust, we were talking about ways to support Boris’ greening London agenda.

The wood straddles London and Kent. Or Kentish London and Kent, being part in the Borough of Bexley and part in the Borough of Dartford, this also means that it straddles the Low Emissions Zone (LEZ).

I am not a big fan of the LEZ! I particularly dislike the ugly and intrusive signs that litter the boundaries of the two boroughs I represent. On my way back from the wood I found what must be the most useless of all the LEZ signs.

And to think part of my council tax paid for that sign to be put up.

6 responses to “Ugly, intrusive and useless sign

  1. That is ridiculous. We should definitely spend more of your council tax money taking it down!It is less ugly than that 60s style ‘T’ with such clashing colours. That red and blue just don’t go.

  2. That is ridiculous. We should definitely spend more of your council tax money taking it down!It is less ugly than that 60s style ‘T’ with such clashing colours. That red and blue just don’t go.

  3. Yes – I’ve got cases like this on my patch too. The point is that as this is a cul-de-sac, who is going to go up there in a lorry or coach anyway? And who is going to go up there to enforce it?At the time they were introduced I couldn’t believe that signs like this had been correctly located – but they had. It was the boundary that had been drawn without applying common sense.

  4. Yes – I’ve got cases like this on my patch too. The point is that as this is a cul-de-sac, who is going to go up there in a lorry or coach anyway? And who is going to go up there to enforce it?At the time they were introduced I couldn’t believe that signs like this had been correctly located – but they had. It was the boundary that had been drawn without applying common sense.

Leave a Reply

