Ray Lewis resigns

I have just found out that Ray Lewis has tendered his resignation to the Mayor who has accepted it. It turns out that although he passed the recruitment process, he never served as a magistrate, it also looks as though he wasn’t completely straight with the Mayor about his CV.

Boris said “When pressed with a string of unsubstantiated allegations my instinct was to fight and fight hard for Ray. I still hope that he can clear his name. I cannot deny however that my confidence in Ray was shaken by the discovery today that he is not a fully fledged Justice of the Peace and I cannot deny that to be misled on this issue made it harder for me to give Ray the backing necessary to continue in his role as Deputy Mayor.”

This is a very sad thing to have happened. Ray has transformed the lives of many young people for the better, his record is self evident, however in the goldfish bowl of British politics it isn’t worth trying to pull the wool.

22 responses to “Ray Lewis resigns

  1. You next James there are rumoirs circulating about your privae life and Gilligan is sniffing around. Be afraid very afraid..Basically your man Lewis is a liar, probably a thief , bullies kids has a sting of arrests and this is just for starters – no need for checks you will do for the new and improved Cameron Tory Party!

  2. You next James there are rumoirs circulating about your privae life and Gilligan is sniffing around. Be afraid very afraid..Basically your man Lewis is a liar, probably a thief , bullies kids has a sting of arrests and this is just for starters – no need for checks you will do for the new and improved Cameron Tory Party!

  3. It is quite right that Ray Lewis resigned. He had put you and follow Conservatives in the odious position of having to defend a man struck off by the Church as a decent man to be advising the mayor.I was delighted when Lewis was appointed as deputy mayor, I felt it showed that Boris had an understanding for the need to unite London’s ethnic communities following a string of stupid comments he has made over the years. Lewis has let down Boris, the Conservative party, and London.I am sure that the anonymous comments above are completely unsubstatiated and I am sure you have nothing to hide (but if you do my advice is to tell the truth before it comes out). Whilst I disagree with many of your views I know you to be honourable and you continue to have my respect, otherwise I would not continue to comment.Wishing you and your family a good weekend.

  4. It is quite right that Ray Lewis resigned. He had put you and follow Conservatives in the odious position of having to defend a man struck off by the Church as a decent man to be advising the mayor.I was delighted when Lewis was appointed as deputy mayor, I felt it showed that Boris had an understanding for the need to unite London’s ethnic communities following a string of stupid comments he has made over the years. Lewis has let down Boris, the Conservative party, and London.I am sure that the anonymous comments above are completely unsubstatiated and I am sure you have nothing to hide (but if you do my advice is to tell the truth before it comes out). Whilst I disagree with many of your views I know you to be honourable and you continue to have my respect, otherwise I would not continue to comment.Wishing you and your family a good weekend.

  5. James I can tell you and now a third deputy mayor ( you heard it here first) are next in line I would get your house well and truly in order. There are brown envelopes circulating with incriminating material related to your personal life.

  6. James I can tell you and now a third deputy mayor ( you heard it here first) are next in line I would get your house well and truly in order. There are brown envelopes circulating with incriminating material related to your personal life.

  7. I’m a Labour supporter and I agree with Dave Hill. Tell these nutters on your blog to piss off!

  8. I’m a Labour supporter and I agree with Dave Hill. Tell these nutters on your blog to piss off!

  9. <>incriminating material related to your personal life<>Only in New Britain could happily married with children be regarded as “material”!

  10. <>incriminating material related to your personal life<>Only in New Britain could happily married with children be regarded as “material”!

  11. Could Boris lose a THIRD deputy?!Tittle tattle, wishful thinking or malicious gossip I know not. But there’s a suggestion this evening that London Mayor, Boris Johnson, could lose a third deputy within a matter of weeks. After Ray Lewis’s resignation today and James McGrath’s resignation a few weeks ago Johnson is said to be “walking on egg shells”, and with good reason according to those in the know. So don’t be surprised if Boris’s announcement that he will only serve as mayor for one term comes sooner rather than later. A bit like Caroline Spelman’s decision to jump before she’s pushed. Labels: Mayor Boris

  12. Could Boris lose a THIRD deputy?!Tittle tattle, wishful thinking or malicious gossip I know not. But there’s a suggestion this evening that London Mayor, Boris Johnson, could lose a third deputy within a matter of weeks. After Ray Lewis’s resignation today and James McGrath’s resignation a few weeks ago Johnson is said to be “walking on egg shells”, and with good reason according to those in the know. So don’t be surprised if Boris’s announcement that he will only serve as mayor for one term comes sooner rather than later. A bit like Caroline Spelman’s decision to jump before she’s pushed. Labels: Mayor Boris

  13. Sorry but its so funny…takenf ro Gavins Gailey Gigest blog…Thankfully, Mr Lewis has taken the time to explain his position to Gavin’s Gaily Gigest in a specially drafted statement*:“Yesterday I made the decision to resign as deputy mayor after a series of unsubstantiated media allegations which were totally true. They inferred that I had conned three people out of money whilst a vicar in the late 1990s, but of course failed to mention that the entire reason for organised religion is to con people out of money. This was an unacceptable omission in my view, but an omission I feel the media will fail to atone for.“They claimed that I am barred from appointment to any post in the Church of England but I know that I could be the Archbishop of Canterbury if I really wanted to. I can of course only speak for what I know to be true and it’s not my fault that I choose to put my fingers in my ears and sing “la-la-la” when somebody is telling me something that I don’t want to hear.“Similarly, the media allege I am not a Justice of the Peace. Whilst it is true that I have not been appointed a magistrate officially, I do occasionally wander the streets of London in robes and a funny wig meting out my own brand of vigilante justice in a kind of Judge Dredd / Judge Deed fantasy.“I ask now for my family and myself to be left in peace, so that I can continue to concoct a series of lies that may eventually lead me to become Supreme Overlord of the Universe.”The only comment from Mayor Boris Johnson’s office was:“Cripes, golly, well gee-whiz, this is a turn-up for the plus fours what!”My thanks go to the Foundation for Obvious Jokes and also to the Centre for Political Stereotypes for help in putting together this post. Any errors, of course, remain entirely Ray Lewis’s.* Specially drafted in that it is a complete and utter fiction… Just like Ray Lewis’s career.

  14. Sorry but its so funny…takenf ro Gavins Gailey Gigest blog…Thankfully, Mr Lewis has taken the time to explain his position to Gavin’s Gaily Gigest in a specially drafted statement*:“Yesterday I made the decision to resign as deputy mayor after a series of unsubstantiated media allegations which were totally true. They inferred that I had conned three people out of money whilst a vicar in the late 1990s, but of course failed to mention that the entire reason for organised religion is to con people out of money. This was an unacceptable omission in my view, but an omission I feel the media will fail to atone for.“They claimed that I am barred from appointment to any post in the Church of England but I know that I could be the Archbishop of Canterbury if I really wanted to. I can of course only speak for what I know to be true and it’s not my fault that I choose to put my fingers in my ears and sing “la-la-la” when somebody is telling me something that I don’t want to hear.“Similarly, the media allege I am not a Justice of the Peace. Whilst it is true that I have not been appointed a magistrate officially, I do occasionally wander the streets of London in robes and a funny wig meting out my own brand of vigilante justice in a kind of Judge Dredd / Judge Deed fantasy.“I ask now for my family and myself to be left in peace, so that I can continue to concoct a series of lies that may eventually lead me to become Supreme Overlord of the Universe.”The only comment from Mayor Boris Johnson’s office was:“Cripes, golly, well gee-whiz, this is a turn-up for the plus fours what!”My thanks go to the Foundation for Obvious Jokes and also to the Centre for Political Stereotypes for help in putting together this post. Any errors, of course, remain entirely Ray Lewis’s.* Specially drafted in that it is a complete and utter fiction… Just like Ray Lewis’s career.

  15. Ray Lewis was never a Prison Governor. He was a governor under training for a few weeks which meant he followed staff around making notes. He did not complete his training and resigned from the sevice before formal charges of improper language and behaviour to a female member of staff were laid under the prison service code of discipline.

  16. Ray Lewis was never a Prison Governor. He was a governor under training for a few weeks which meant he followed staff around making notes. He did not complete his training and resigned from the sevice before formal charges of improper language and behaviour to a female member of staff were laid under the prison service code of discipline.

Leave a Reply

