Pregnant women on the tube

I am really sad to think it has come to this. There will soon be stickers on the tube reminding people to give up their seats to pregnant women.

People shouldn’t need to be reminded of this simple courtesy, I would like to believe that this was a natural as breathing but I’m not surprised that it isn’t.

On an unrelated note, army officers stand up when a woman enters the room. Just thought you might like to know.

8 responses to “Pregnant women on the tube

  1. Do female army officers stand up when women enter the room?Of course a third of pregnant women are difficult to spot as they do not look pregnant and they tend to hide the fact they are pregnant, so it does not surprise me that people do not offer them seats.More nonsense statistics from the railway industry.

  2. Do female army officers stand up when women enter the room?Of course a third of pregnant women are difficult to spot as they do not look pregnant and they tend to hide the fact they are pregnant, so it does not surprise me that people do not offer them seats.More nonsense statistics from the railway industry.

  3. The behaviour of Londoners on public transport is one of the many things that puts me off the place.It’s not just the way everyone in the carriage raises their freeby newspapers above eye level when a pregnant woman gets on, the rot of cosmopolitanism runs deeper than this.A few years ago I was on a busy night bus to Cricklewood. Somewhere near Maida Vale the bus stopped and didn’t move for a minute or so. Passengers started getting up and leaving to wait for the next one. After a couple of minutes it got the the point where it was just me and one other passenger left on the top deck.She asked me if I knew what was going on, so I looked downstairs and there was a man arguing with the driver, trying to hitch a free ride. I told her what was going on and that we’d probably move off in a moment or two once he gave up and she got up and left too.I headed down the stairs and we had been the last two people left on board. The man was still arguing with the driver, so I butted in and asked if we were still going to Cricklewood. The driver replied “As soon as he gets off we are.”So I said “That’s OK, I’ll wait and sat down near the cab.” Soon after the man got off the bus. I couldn’t belive that fifty or more people had just skinned out and left the driver to deal with him.Anywhere else the passengers downstairs would have backed up the driver instead of just legging it for the next bus.

  4. The behaviour of Londoners on public transport is one of the many things that puts me off the place.It’s not just the way everyone in the carriage raises their freeby newspapers above eye level when a pregnant woman gets on, the rot of cosmopolitanism runs deeper than this.A few years ago I was on a busy night bus to Cricklewood. Somewhere near Maida Vale the bus stopped and didn’t move for a minute or so. Passengers started getting up and leaving to wait for the next one. After a couple of minutes it got the the point where it was just me and one other passenger left on the top deck.She asked me if I knew what was going on, so I looked downstairs and there was a man arguing with the driver, trying to hitch a free ride. I told her what was going on and that we’d probably move off in a moment or two once he gave up and she got up and left too.I headed down the stairs and we had been the last two people left on board. The man was still arguing with the driver, so I butted in and asked if we were still going to Cricklewood. The driver replied “As soon as he gets off we are.”So I said “That’s OK, I’ll wait and sat down near the cab.” Soon after the man got off the bus. I couldn’t belive that fifty or more people had just skinned out and left the driver to deal with him.Anywhere else the passengers downstairs would have backed up the driver instead of just legging it for the next bus.

  5. I will still stand up to allow a lady to sit but I do so with certain care now, having been loudly berated by several harridan PC ‘victims’ of my chivalry for insulting their wimminhood.I was rather amused by one bus company I used last month in the rather more rural parts of our country which had a sign up observing amongst other things that “gentlemen and scholars should rise for ladies”.

  6. I will still stand up to allow a lady to sit but I do so with certain care now, having been loudly berated by several harridan PC ‘victims’ of my chivalry for insulting their wimminhood.I was rather amused by one bus company I used last month in the rather more rural parts of our country which had a sign up observing amongst other things that “gentlemen and scholars should rise for ladies”.

Leave a Reply

