Evening Standard debate

I was at the Evening Standard’s debate last night. It was fun seeing Nick Ferrari and Ken Livingstone on the same platform, no love lost there.

At the start, Livingstone came across relaxed and jovial, cracking the odd joke here and there sometimes self-deprecating. But the slick image cracked a little when passionate audience members pushed him on the congestion charge, fear of crime, his comments about Israel and the actions of Lee Jasper.

Livingstone’s answers were well rehearsed and he never lost his rag completely but I think he was expecting an easier ride from the audience, many of which were clearly his supporters.

What really struck me was despite the title of the debate being “How London can stay ahead as a great world city?” he was remarkably light on ideas. Boris has been deploying the policy ideas, worked on in the lead up to Christmas, on almost a daily basis. All Livingstone could say was I have been a good mayor (debateable) please vote for me again.

12 responses to “Evening Standard debate

  1. A good mayor? Don’t make me laugh. Ken got ejected and the GLC effectively disbanded under Mrs. T, but in essence all he did was get sneakier at what he was doing and with lots more money.

  2. A good mayor? Don’t make me laugh. Ken got ejected and the GLC effectively disbanded under Mrs. T, but in essence all he did was get sneakier at what he was doing and with lots more money.

  3. Ken Livingstone changed the way the Travelcard zones worked.I live in Kingston Vale in Zone 4, my daily commute involved a bus to zone 2, and a train and tube to central London. Before Ken, I needed a zone 4 annual travelcard.After Ken, I needed a zone 2 travelcard, all bus journeys are free with any travelcard.The buses are more regular, the new bus lanes and Oyster card access make my journey speedier.Basically, Ken has saved me around £400-£500 and 150 hours travel a year. I feel safer and he makes a string, opinionated statesman for London.Purely on pragmatic terms, he gets my vote. As thanks, if nothing else.

  4. Ken Livingstone changed the way the Travelcard zones worked.I live in Kingston Vale in Zone 4, my daily commute involved a bus to zone 2, and a train and tube to central London. Before Ken, I needed a zone 4 annual travelcard.After Ken, I needed a zone 2 travelcard, all bus journeys are free with any travelcard.The buses are more regular, the new bus lanes and Oyster card access make my journey speedier.Basically, Ken has saved me around £400-£500 and 150 hours travel a year. I feel safer and he makes a string, opinionated statesman for London.Purely on pragmatic terms, he gets my vote. As thanks, if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

