Knocked off the bike

Well, ten months of cycling to work and today saw my first “proper” accident. It wasn’t even a bendy bus (I’m very off message) but it was a white van.

I was heading to work this morning and had passed the Oval coming towards the Vauxhall one way system. This is always the most dangerous section of the journey and the strange mish-mash of on-road and on-pavement cycle lanes is worse than useless.

As I turned left into the system a van overtook me and cut the corner rather tightly, he may have been watching Lewis Hamilton steering the racing line and tried to emulate him! The result was that I suddenly had no road to ride on. Sharp tug on the brakes followed by a gentle clip by the van and then a close inspection of the road.

A passer by took down the name of the company that owned the van and I called them once I got to work. I was ready for a bit of righteous anger but the guy was so sincere in his apology and desire to “see me right” that it all washed away.

I won’t embarrass the company by naming them because the MD and the driver of the van were both clearly good at heart and neither I or the bike suffered any major damage. I’m sure the driver will be that bit more careful next time. As will I.

2 responses to “Knocked off the bike

  1. Good to hear you were not badly hurt.We do need better rights of way for cyclists particularly at areas like Vauxhall. In the Netherlands they have special traffic lights for cycles at this type of junction, which does improve the situation. And Dutch cyclists don’t complain about their bendy buses and trams.

  2. Good to hear you were not badly hurt.We do need better rights of way for cyclists particularly at areas like Vauxhall. In the Netherlands they have special traffic lights for cycles at this type of junction, which does improve the situation. And Dutch cyclists don’t complain about their bendy buses and trams.

Leave a Reply

