Gordon Brown runs scared

I should have put money on this. As anyone that I spoke to at conference will confirm I have been saying that Brown would bottle it for the last few weeks.

The question that I am asking myself is “Was it David’s speech or the media reaction to the Iraq trip?”. Like most things in life it was probably an element of both but I think that Iraq was the more significant.

I am more confident of a Conservative victory now than at any point in the last ten years. I say this because Brown has managed to blow all the elements of the power image that he has tried to create.

Strong in a crisis? Clearly not! Clever strategist? No! Principled conviction politician? Don’t make me laugh!

He has also blown his relationship with the media, this will hang around his neck for a long time. He is running scared and probably knows that he has damaged his own electoral chances.

Brown is now damaged goods.

2 responses to “Gordon Brown runs scared

  1. I agree with you about the Iraq thing. Up to that point the media had been brown-nosing ( Ha!) Brown, but even they could see the stunt for wwhat it was. As Ian Hyslop said on QT ” It’s OK to lie to other politicians and the elctorate, but its very very dangerous to lie to journalists. And even the journos spotted that the GBP seriously dislike dour lads being used as pawns.

  2. I agree with you about the Iraq thing. Up to that point the media had been brown-nosing ( Ha!) Brown, but even they could see the stunt for wwhat it was. As Ian Hyslop said on QT ” It’s OK to lie to other politicians and the elctorate, but its very very dangerous to lie to journalists. And even the journos spotted that the GBP seriously dislike dour lads being used as pawns.

Leave a Reply

