London Triathlon

Susie, Freddy, Rupert and I spent the afternoon at the London Triathlon. What a great day.

I felt more than a little sorry for the competitors because it was scorching hot, the mountains of bottled water were definitely needed. The whole event struck me as being very well organised and having the transition area and the finish line in amongst the exhibition stands worked brilliantly.

The boys were fascinated by the whole event and Freddy kept pointing to Lycra clad athletes and asking me “do you know him daddy?”. Unfortunately I didn’t, although we all shouted support at random strangers to help them along.

I even had a go on a very smart Trek bicycle attached to a turbo trainer on a virtual one mile sprint course. I did it in a fairly respectable 2 minutes 18 seconds, only six seconds slower that the twenty year old racing snake on the bike next to me. Unfortunately the fastest time was a good thirty seconds quicker so I won’t be winning the bike, which was the prize for the fastest time. Ironically I did get a free bottle of beer from the sponsors of the event.

I will be putting in my application for the 2008 event on Monday.

2 responses to “London Triathlon

  1. Hey there! If you need any help training, several of our trainers have completed the London Triathlon! Soooo, let us know! Big Ed

  2. Hey there! If you need any help training, several of our trainers have completed the London Triathlon! Soooo, let us know! Big Ed

Leave a Reply

