New Bike

I’ve got myself a new bike!

The old Ridgeback has served me well for over a decade, it started life as a mountain bike and has evolved into a hybrid commuter.

The big, chunky, knobbly tyres were swapped for smoother ones, but ultimately the gears that were designed to help me get up steep, muddy hillsides were too slow on the mean streets of south London. So, with a few months worth of saved up rail fair money I set off to the bike shop.

I felt more than a little disloyal buying a new bike, my old one has served me well despite a three year period sitting unused in the garden, in all weathers. After a quick clean and grease job it proved to be reliable and comfortable and the last five months of commuting have been pretty much trouble free.

But, I am now fitter and I want a faster bike. I have stayed with a British manufacture, even though the current exchange rate means that you can get some great deals on American bikes. Indeed I have stuck with Ridgeback’s Genesis range because of the outstanding service that the old grey Ridgeback has provided me.

So what is the new bike like?

Fantastic.

Things have moved on quite a bit since my old bike was built and for about the same money that I spent more than a dozen years ago I get a bike a quantum leap better. Much, much lighter and agile with tyres and gears more suited to the regular ride in to work that I do.

I will report back next week as to the effect that it has had on my commuting times.

4 responses to “New Bike

  1. Congrats, I’m pretty envious.They nicked my old racing bike so I bought the cheapest second hand bike on the market following the idea that if they nick that too I wouldn’t be too sorry and also who would want to nick it.It’s so heavy that I think it’s made out of plutonium or something around that. I already checked what’s the cost of a decent modern lightweight hybrid. It’s coming soon.

  2. Congrats, I’m pretty envious.They nicked my old racing bike so I bought the cheapest second hand bike on the market following the idea that if they nick that too I wouldn’t be too sorry and also who would want to nick it.It’s so heavy that I think it’s made out of plutonium or something around that. I already checked what’s the cost of a decent modern lightweight hybrid. It’s coming soon.

Leave a Reply

