Cycling stuff

The Guardian (naturally) has a really good round up of bicycle related stuff. Well worth a read if you ride regularly or a re thinking of doing so.

By the way, I recently got one of TFL’s cycle route maps of London. I traced my route to work, starting at Lewisham, through Brockley, New Cross, Peckham, Camberwell, Vauxhall, Nine Elms Lane, Chelsea Bridge finishing on the Kings Road. I manage to miss designated cycle routes the whole way.

Ah well you can’t win the all!

10 responses to “Cycling stuff

  1. James,I have to confess that I am not losing as much weight as I thought I would.I have lost about half a stone, but I should really lose about twice as much again (at least). I think I may be eating more now that I am exercising daily again.I have lost some bulk around the middle and I have cut almost ten minutes from the journey time so I am sure I am getting health benefits.I had to take the train to work a couple of times and I hated it.I am now a cycling addict.

  2. James,I have to confess that I am not losing as much weight as I thought I would.I have lost about half a stone, but I should really lose about twice as much again (at least). I think I may be eating more now that I am exercising daily again.I have lost some bulk around the middle and I have cut almost ten minutes from the journey time so I am sure I am getting health benefits.I had to take the train to work a couple of times and I hated it.I am now a cycling addict.

  3. Hi Max,On a good day I can do it in just under 40 minutes.It is a little over 9.5 miles so I’m averaging about 14.5 MPH.I want to get under 40 minutes consistantly.

  4. Hi Max,On a good day I can do it in just under 40 minutes.It is a little over 9.5 miles so I’m averaging about 14.5 MPH.I want to get under 40 minutes consistantly.

  5. Biking like this is great, James. I work for myself from my home, about 4km from the local airport, open fields and quiet, straight country roads. So I have a privilege of getting on my bike each day and riding out into rural Canterbury. (We’re talking about Canterbury, New Zealand.) Since the New Year I have cycled 3400km, mainly in preparation for < HREF="http://www.lerace.co.nz" REL="nofollow">Le Race<> from the center of our city to the charming harbour village of Akaroa (founded in 1840 by the French). But also because it’s so invigorating to ride for an hour or two after sitting at a computer and working for clients on all sides of the Pacific Ocean. The design and look of a good road bike is one of life’s satisfactions. And the pure simplicity and minimal “footprint” of a cycle take away your breath when you compare it to, say a motorbike. Try taking a valuable motorbike with you as you move to a new town over the mountains, or across our Cook Strait. You’re almost certainly going to have to use the services of a good < HREF="http://www.custom-transporters.com" REL="nofollow">motorcycle mover<>. Where as, as you know, the cyclist simply removes the wheels of his bike and puts them in the boot of the car!

  6. Biking like this is great, James. I work for myself from my home, about 4km from the local airport, open fields and quiet, straight country roads. So I have a privilege of getting on my bike each day and riding out into rural Canterbury. (We’re talking about Canterbury, New Zealand.) Since the New Year I have cycled 3400km, mainly in preparation for < HREF="http://www.lerace.co.nz" REL="nofollow">Le Race<> from the center of our city to the charming harbour village of Akaroa (founded in 1840 by the French). But also because it’s so invigorating to ride for an hour or two after sitting at a computer and working for clients on all sides of the Pacific Ocean. The design and look of a good road bike is one of life’s satisfactions. And the pure simplicity and minimal “footprint” of a cycle take away your breath when you compare it to, say a motorbike. Try taking a valuable motorbike with you as you move to a new town over the mountains, or across our Cook Strait. You’re almost certainly going to have to use the services of a good < HREF="http://www.custom-transporters.com" REL="nofollow">motorcycle mover<>. Where as, as you know, the cyclist simply removes the wheels of his bike and puts them in the boot of the car!

Leave a Reply

