John Reid sets out his leadership bid

Well, well well. It looks as though the Labour leadership race will be between Reid and Brown.

In an article written for the Telegraph, John Reid has tried to paint David Cameron as soft on crime and boasts about his own record. Clearly setting out the battle lines for a leadership bid!

Go for it John, it takes a huge degree of self delusion for anyone in the current Home Office to boast about their record and you will need plenty of it to lead Labour into the next General Election.

He boasts about how many people there are in prison and how long they are serving, he seems not to understand that overflowing prisons are a sign of increased crime and a failure of planning. He pays lip service to tackling the causes of crime but he clearly hasn’t got a real plan for this side of the equation.

David Cameron is not advocating a hippy love in as a solution to youth crime, what he is saying is that the vast majority of young people are good and many of the young offenders just need focus, guidance and structure. It is a bit rich for the Home Secretary to point the finger at the Leader of the opposition when it has been his Government’s undermining of teacher’s authority, parent’s authority and police authority which has fueled much of the increase in youth crime.

Rather like a playground bully, Reid’s posturing and barking may hide a deep lack of self confidence.

Do you think he got enough hugs as a child?

10 responses to “John Reid sets out his leadership bid

  1. What I find most interesting about John Reid boasting about his record is that he hasn’t got one. He hasn’t held down one government job long enough. I suppose he could say that he has been a Secretary of State in so many different departments, that gives he a broad knowledge of government, and that makes him more suitable than Gordon Brown.

  2. What I find most interesting about John Reid boasting about his record is that he hasn’t got one. He hasn’t held down one government job long enough. I suppose he could say that he has been a Secretary of State in so many different departments, that gives he a broad knowledge of government, and that makes him more suitable than Gordon Brown.

  3. James, the plan is to see who can be the biggest fascist. Whoever can be seen to be crushing freedom the most will win the Labour leadership.

    James Higham…

    I’d rather have Alan Johnson as the PM than Brown or Reid. I liked how he attempted to stand against the Roman Catholic tendancy in the government over the the educational quotas.
    Pity the rest of the cabinet didn’t have the guts to support him/disagreed with him.

    If you mean in terms of who we can beat easier…. The I’d say Brown as he has the least experiance and things might go down hill a bit with regards to the economy.

    Oh how I hate them both… I really, really hate them. No honestly, I do. But I hate Blair more. GURH. -punches wall- SO-MUCH-FRUSTRATION. I can’t stand what this government as done to the country.

  4. James, the plan is to see who can be the biggest fascist. Whoever can be seen to be crushing freedom the most will win the Labour leadership.

    James Higham…

    I’d rather have Alan Johnson as the PM than Brown or Reid. I liked how he attempted to stand against the Roman Catholic tendancy in the government over the the educational quotas.
    Pity the rest of the cabinet didn’t have the guts to support him/disagreed with him.

    If you mean in terms of who we can beat easier…. The I’d say Brown as he has the least experiance and things might go down hill a bit with regards to the economy.

    Oh how I hate them both… I really, really hate them. No honestly, I do. But I hate Blair more. GURH. -punches wall- SO-MUCH-FRUSTRATION. I can’t stand what this government as done to the country.

  5. Can’t came down unfortunately.

    The incompetencies, lies and general deceit of this government has for nine years been lathering me up into a deeper and deeper hate of it, all it stands for and all it has done to damage this country.

    You’ll be glad to know that I have been a member of the party since January 5th of this year and spent most Thursday’s out on the streets delivering leaflets and canvassing the neighbourhoods. A wise investment of time and money if I should say so myself.

  6. Can’t came down unfortunately.

    The incompetencies, lies and general deceit of this government has for nine years been lathering me up into a deeper and deeper hate of it, all it stands for and all it has done to damage this country.

    You’ll be glad to know that I have been a member of the party since January 5th of this year and spent most Thursday’s out on the streets delivering leaflets and canvassing the neighbourhoods. A wise investment of time and money if I should say so myself.

Leave a Reply

