Guard dogs not lapdogs

A lot of soldiers that I know have been keen for someone senior to put their side of events into the public domain.

Sir Richard has put himself into the political firing line by talking about overstretch in the armed forces and I applaud his decision to do so. Troops need to feel that their chain of command make military decisions not political ones.

It almost doesn’t matter whether you agree or disagree with Sir Richard the fact is he has said what he believes to be the truth about our military commitments. He is a soldier and his loyalty is to the Monarch, the country and his troops, not to the Labour party or the MOD.

I listened to Sir Richard on the Today program on Radio 4 this morning, it was a masterclass in how not to be pushed around by an interviewer.

UPDATE: 15.21 – 13-10-06

A very interesting comment has been made on Nick Robinson’s BBC News blog. Read it here

4 responses to “Guard dogs not lapdogs

  1. This is a very interesting statement. It has HUGE constitutional implications by the very fact that he made it let alone it’s contents. I’ll be interested in the line Bliar et al take. I suspect that they won’t be able to character assassinate him, but you never know. But, I must take my hat off to the man. At last, a leader with cojones! I know that the soldiers will be pleased with what he has said.

  2. This is a very interesting statement. It has HUGE constitutional implications by the very fact that he made it let alone it’s contents. I’ll be interested in the line Bliar et al take. I suspect that they won’t be able to character assassinate him, but you never know. But, I must take my hat off to the man. At last, a leader with cojones! I know that the soldiers will be pleased with what he has said.

  3. Rather than his comment that wehould leave Iraq ASAP, I was more surprised by his intimation that the army would not accept an Islamist takeover of the UK, which the interviewer completely failed to pick up on. I expect Blair & Brown would agree, but the Today Program’s stated position (in interview with the guy who heckled John Reid) is that an Islamist takeover is fine if it’s done ‘democratically’, ie by majority vote in Parliament. This may yet become important in the years & decades ahead – it might seem remote now but my local MP Sadiq Khan has a record of supporting the Islamists and would probably vote for Sharia if it seemed likely to pass. I doubt there are more than 2-3 such MPs at Westminster currently, but the number is bound to increase.

  4. Rather than his comment that wehould leave Iraq ASAP, I was more surprised by his intimation that the army would not accept an Islamist takeover of the UK, which the interviewer completely failed to pick up on. I expect Blair & Brown would agree, but the Today Program’s stated position (in interview with the guy who heckled John Reid) is that an Islamist takeover is fine if it’s done ‘democratically’, ie by majority vote in Parliament. This may yet become important in the years & decades ahead – it might seem remote now but my local MP Sadiq Khan has a record of supporting the Islamists and would probably vote for Sharia if it seemed likely to pass. I doubt there are more than 2-3 such MPs at Westminster currently, but the number is bound to increase.

Leave a Reply

