Gallantry Medal for the Royal Irish Regiment

I have a huge amount of respect for the Royal Irish Regiment, they are a really tough bunch and whenever I have had any dealings with them their huge reserves of humour have also been in evidence.

Elements of the regiment have been on front line duty continuously for the last 36 years. In addition to the home service battalions working in Northern Ireland they have heavily involved in both the conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan.

They are well deserving of the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross that they received from the Queen.

6 responses to “Gallantry Medal for the Royal Irish Regiment

  1. I spent six months as a platoon commander on attachment with 3 RIR in the Newry patch. Tough bunch indeed. Still have the Blackthorn cane they gave me as a leaving present – in 1993! Utterly deserved award.

  2. I spent six months as a platoon commander on attachment with 3 RIR in the Newry patch. Tough bunch indeed. Still have the Blackthorn cane they gave me as a leaving present – in 1993! Utterly deserved award.

  3. Hey Cleverly,

    I was in a shop today and I heard on the radio something about the government increasing support to our boys in Afghanistan. I think every regiment that serves in Afganistan deserves a Gallentry Medal too.

    Mike Rouse

  4. Hey Cleverly,

    I was in a shop today and I heard on the radio something about the government increasing support to our boys in Afghanistan. I think every regiment that serves in Afganistan deserves a Gallentry Medal too.

    Mike Rouse

Leave a Reply

