Withdrawing my application

Well that was short and sweet. I have just contacted Conservative HQ to let them know that I have to withdraw my application to be considered as a candidate for Mayor of London.

I had to make a number of sacrifices and arrange a number of things in order to apply on time, the change in timescale makes those arrangements obsolete and I am not in a position where I can undo them.

Clearly I am disappointed, I feel that we had a good mix of people and policies amongst the line up and the local election results show that Labour are very beatable here in London.

Rearranging your life to stand for Mayor isn’t easy so I understand that there may be some candidates who were desperate to stand this time round but who were not able to do so, hopefully this delay will give them a chance to.

I am still fully committed to replacing Livingstone with a Conservative mayor and I will work closely (if they want) with whoever becomes our candidate. I will keep the Ideas Forum for London going because it will be a useful source of ideas for our candidate, once selected.

I want to say thank you to everyone who sent me messages of support either through the site or via email. I will be repaying all donations that were sent (that’s going to sting).

James Cleverly
(Not standing for Mayor of London)

8 responses to “Withdrawing my application

  1. What I find disgraceful about this latest extension is that CCHQ is basically saying, “<>sorry, but the current applicants are not good enough, and we want someone more high profile and better<>.” This would suggest that because they could not find a “<>big hitter<>” to run in the selection process, they do not take the current candidates or process itself seriously.I would bear that in mind James, when you next see Francis Maude. I certainly will.

  2. What I find disgraceful about this latest extension is that CCHQ is basically saying, “<>sorry, but the current applicants are not good enough, and we want someone more high profile and better<>.” This would suggest that because they could not find a “<>big hitter<>” to run in the selection process, they do not take the current candidates or process itself seriously.I would bear that in mind James, when you next see Francis Maude. I certainly will.

  3. This CCHQ cock up has cost the Conservative Party a really good candidate – I am mortified for you James. These people running our party have no idea – the A List debacle and now this…

  4. This CCHQ cock up has cost the Conservative Party a really good candidate – I am mortified for you James. These people running our party have no idea – the A List debacle and now this…

  5. Thank you for your comments.Frank I have deleted yours because I don’t want you to get spammed. If you send it in again without your email I’ll put it up.James

  6. Thank you for your comments.Frank I have deleted yours because I don’t want you to get spammed. If you send it in again without your email I’ll put it up.James

  7. JamesYou are on the A List now! It would not be right to apply for a Westminster seat and be a mayoral candidate at the same time. So in the final analysis, you landed firmly on your feet…yes?

  8. JamesYou are on the A List now! It would not be right to apply for a Westminster seat and be a mayoral candidate at the same time. So in the final analysis, you landed firmly on your feet…yes?

Leave a Reply

