Iain, I’m glad you lost

I like Iain Dale a lot, I have met him face to face only once but he puts a lot of his personality into his blog and we have corresponded on a number of issues, most recently the Little Red Book of New Labour Sleaze.

I say this because I don’t want the following to be taken the wrong way. Losing North Norfolk could have been the best thing that happened to Iain (politically).

If he had won he would have been a backbencher, I am sure he would have been good but he would have been one of many. He would have been tied down in committee work, case work and the myriad of other things that MPs do in their working lives. His blog may have been an interesting enough read but probably hamstrung by his position in the house.

The fact that Iain is not an MP has given him much more freedom in his writing and commentating. This freedom may well cost John Prescott his job. And no bad thing that.

Obviously Guido will have played a large part in this too but he is at a disadvantage because he keeps his anonymity sacred. By becoming the public face of Conservative blogging Iain is wielding more power than any Tory backbencher.

Does this mean that Iain should give up hope of being an MP? No! Iain deserves to be an MP, he has shown an ability to resonate with people and his commitment to conservatism is legion, when the time comes he should pass on the baton to another blogger and take up his well deserved place on the green benches.

And before you accuse me of trying to steal his crown remember I intend to be in the Commons with him.

12 responses to “Iain, I’m glad you lost

  1. Well what can I say. Genuinely touched. Given the choice of MP or blogger you know which I’d rather have. But I’m having a good time at the moment. It’s all a bit bizarre though.

  2. Well what can I say. Genuinely touched. Given the choice of MP or blogger you know which I’d rather have. But I’m having a good time at the moment. It’s all a bit bizarre though.

  3. I’m an avid reader of both your blog and Iain’s blog and I certainly hope to see you both in the commons after the next election.While you may both have raised your profiles by blogging, there is certainly a risk held. Years worth of thoughts held electronically is a dangerous back catalogue of ammunition for opponents. But then I’m sure you are both aware of that!Keep up the good work.James

  4. I’m an avid reader of both your blog and Iain’s blog and I certainly hope to see you both in the commons after the next election.While you may both have raised your profiles by blogging, there is certainly a risk held. Years worth of thoughts held electronically is a dangerous back catalogue of ammunition for opponents. But then I’m sure you are both aware of that!Keep up the good work.James

  5. Thank you,I hope that I can look back at everything that I have written and be proud, or at least not too embarrassed.I think that people in public life will find increasing pressure to open up with things like bogs. There was a point when MPs thought that televising the commons would destroy parliament.I hope I’m right.

  6. Thank you,I hope that I can look back at everything that I have written and be proud, or at least not too embarrassed.I think that people in public life will find increasing pressure to open up with things like bogs. There was a point when MPs thought that televising the commons would destroy parliament.I hope I’m right.

Leave a Reply

