The Somme 90 years ago


Max Hastings writes an interesting piece about the battle of the Somme. There is a group memory about the Somme, naive men walking across no-man’s-land into a hail of bullets.

I don’t believe that after two years of war any of the soldiers involved were that naive, they had a job to do and they got on with it.

Some things change and some things stay the same.

4 responses to “The Somme 90 years ago

  1. NIce article by old Max. I do like his writing.James, you’ve not commented much on the deployment to the “‘stan” with all it’s discussions surrounding troop numbers. What are your thoughts?

  2. NIce article by old Max. I do like his writing.James, you’ve not commented much on the deployment to the “‘stan” with all it’s discussions surrounding troop numbers. What are your thoughts?

  3. I have got a long post on the Afghan deployment brewing.Until it put it down I will leave you with a quote from Patrick Mercer MP (Shadow Homeland Security Minister and ex instructor at Staff College) with which I fully agree.“If a student had prepared such a plan when I was teaching at the staff college, with such a mission statement and task organisation of forces, and with such rules of engagement, I would have failed them comprehensively.”Also have a quick look at:http://jamescleverly.blogspot.com/2006/04/16-brigade-in-afghanistan.html

  4. I have got a long post on the Afghan deployment brewing.Until it put it down I will leave you with a quote from Patrick Mercer MP (Shadow Homeland Security Minister and ex instructor at Staff College) with which I fully agree.“If a student had prepared such a plan when I was teaching at the staff college, with such a mission statement and task organisation of forces, and with such rules of engagement, I would have failed them comprehensively.”Also have a quick look at:http://jamescleverly.blogspot.com/2006/04/16-brigade-in-afghanistan.html

Leave a Reply

