Referendum on Executive Mayor of Lewisham

“The Mayor has too much power” is something that I hear all too often. The decision making process in relation to the proposed site of Lewisham’s new secondary school has highlighted how little power local people and even local councillors really have.

I want the people of Lewisham to have a real input into the running of the borough. The current structure is open to abuse which is why I will ensure that residents and local councillors will have a much greater say in council decisions.

In addition to this I will hold a referendum on the continued existence of a directly elected executive Mayor for Lewisham. The referendum will be held alongside either the Mayor of London elections in 2008 or the European elections in 2009 at the latest.

I think that I can make the system work for the people of Lewisham, if you don’t agree you can vote me out of a job.

Leave a Reply

