Tea and medals

I was back with my old battery last night. Grove Park based 265th Battery Royal Artillery (Volunteers) were presenting medals to a number of their soldiers who had served in Iraq in 2004/5. The presentation was well attended and it was great to see so many friends and family there to watch.

There were also a number of the great and the good including the Deputy Lord Lieutenant of Lewisham, the Regimental Honorary Colonel (Brigadier Styles, my old Army boss) and Steve Bullock (current Mayor of Lewisham). I didn’t really get much chance to talk to the Mayor and I resisted the temptation to ask try on the chain of office.

Point to note for the Mayor, when visiting military people it is generally a good idea to have polished your shoes before hand.

6 responses to “Tea and medals

  1. …..and possibly try to look smart with a better suit & tidy hair!The DL is, after all, the representative of the Queen, but then again the left don’t hold much truck with this outdated sentimenatlity!!!Hopefully the DL will write a quick note to Her Majesty about the moral decline of SE London and you’ll be elected on the nod!!

  2. …..and possibly try to look smart with a better suit & tidy hair!The DL is, after all, the representative of the Queen, but then again the left don’t hold much truck with this outdated sentimenatlity!!!Hopefully the DL will write a quick note to Her Majesty about the moral decline of SE London and you’ll be elected on the nod!!

  3. James,Cheap shot about my shoes – I’d visted the Moonshot in Deptford earlier which is being refurbished by the council and other partners to provide the communities of New Cross with an arts centre for dance, drama, art and community activities. It is currently a building site! And then a football play area at Irwin Gardens in Grove Park which I have had refurbished after the local kids signed a good behaviour contract. I guess my shoes may have become a little dusty in the process! I thought the soldiers who were back from Iraq had some very insightful and positive things to say about the relationship betwen themselves and the local people which sadly never get heard in the media.Steve

  4. James,Cheap shot about my shoes – I’d visted the Moonshot in Deptford earlier which is being refurbished by the council and other partners to provide the communities of New Cross with an arts centre for dance, drama, art and community activities. It is currently a building site! And then a football play area at Irwin Gardens in Grove Park which I have had refurbished after the local kids signed a good behaviour contract. I guess my shoes may have become a little dusty in the process! I thought the soldiers who were back from Iraq had some very insightful and positive things to say about the relationship betwen themselves and the local people which sadly never get heard in the media.Steve

  5. Steve,I only put it in the blog because it was mentioned to me by one of the soldiers. It is something that your team should have pointed out to you, soldiers notice these things. Still it was good to see you there, a lot of TA soldiers feel very overlooked by their local communities as well as the media.

  6. Steve,I only put it in the blog because it was mentioned to me by one of the soldiers. It is something that your team should have pointed out to you, soldiers notice these things. Still it was good to see you there, a lot of TA soldiers feel very overlooked by their local communities as well as the media.

Leave a Reply

