Off recruiting in Havering

I spent today at the Havering Show trying to attract young men and women to join my TA unit. This form of recruiting tends not to generate a great deal of direct response but I have often found that the numbers of “drop in” enquiries seems to increase in the weeks following a high profile event like this one.

Today, however, I was pleasantly surprised. There were quite a good number of people of about the right age asking for details, it will be interesting to see how many of them turn into real recruits. Even if we don’t get any new soldiers out of the process it is always useful to be seen about by the public at large, just to remind them that we exist.

I saw James Brokenshire, PPC for Hornchurch, across the expanse of people. I didn’t get a chance to say hello and he didn’t see me. I don’t know why I told you that!

……….

The news that there are serious question marks over the legitimacy of the Chechin elections is not good, we are in a much weaker position to kick up a stink about it here now that there are serious question marks over the legitimacy of our own recent elections. It is even more worrying when the Deputy Prime Minister is insisting that a set of referendums go ahead even though there are problems with the electoral system to be used.

Leave a Reply

